Trongsa Dzong is one of the dzongkhags (districts) in central Bhutan located along the Thimphu-Tashigang highway. Lama Ngagi Wangchuk (the onle who built the Jakar Dzong) (1517-54), a Tibetan Drukpa lama, who was the great-grandfather of the Zhabdrung Ngawang Namgyel (1594-1651), is believed to have travelled through the region in 1541.
While meditating in a village called Yuling, lama witnessed a light (“from a body of lamps”) at the furthest point of the spur.and heard sounds made by horses belonging to Palden Lhamo, the female protective deity. This point is where the dzong stands today. It is also believed that when the lama, out of curiosity, went to check out the place saw Palden Lhamo’s “soul-lake” (la tsho) and footprints of the horses. Considering this to be an auspicious sign, the lama built a small temple here, after two years, in 1543. So after his started living in the temple, many of his disciples gathered and started settling nearby the temple. So that’s why it is called Throngsa (New village).
Trongsa Museum,Ta Dzong is located strategically above the Trongsa Dzong on the left bank of the Mangde river. It is a short, steep walk from the main Trongsa town. A road now also makes Ta Dzong accessible from behind. The building is a massive circular five-storey tower flanked by two lower towers.
Ta Dzong, which means “watchtower”, was built by Choeje Minjur Tenpa, the first governor of Trongsa, in the year 1652. The tower stood guard over the Trongsa Dzong to protect the main stronghold of the town from any external threats. Since peace came to Bhutan, the tower has lost its military function.
The museum was opened in 2008, in celebration of three auspicious occasions: enthronement of the fifth King, recognition of 100 years of Monarchy and introduction of democracy in the country. The museum showcases some of the rare and priceless artifacts belonging to the monarchy.